WhatsApp has become one of the popular social messaging platform these days, with a huge user base of 2 billion people. It has constantly been bringing plans and features to provide users a smooth and premium app use experience. And, this time, they have decided to provide a “Self-Destructing Messages” feature to its users.
This new feature has already been rolled out for testing, in beta versions of the app. However, it may take some time before it goes public, as WhatsApp have always kept security and quality in its top priority.
As per WABetaInfo, the new feature was first intended for group chats. However, the company has made it clear through its update that it will be available for private chats as well. When enabled, it would give users an option to set a time i.e.: 1 hour, etc. for the messages. After this time frame, the messages would automatically disappear.
WhatsApp’s main intent for introducing this feature is to give users a power to control the privacy for their conversation. However, like most of the things, this too has both positive and negative aspects. While many are eagerly waiting to use this feature, some critics have presented a concern. Critics believe this app feature would invite people with negative intent to disrupt the users’ digital life.
This new move have definitely caught attention of many across the world. Now, we wait to see if WhatsApp will release this feature like it has announced, as of now.
Enabling the “Self-Destructing Messages” Feature:
When released, one can enable this feature by clicking in the group chat name or private message name, select the “Delete Messages” option and turn it on. However, it is to note that one cannot send one particular time restricted message. If you turn this option on, then all the messages you send in a particular chat or group chat will be time limited i.e.: would disappear after selected certain time.